Hitting the Reset Button

You can’t connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backwards. So you have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future. You have to trust in something – your gut, destiny, life, karma, whatever. This approach has never let me down, and it has made all the difference in my life.

-S. Jobs

I wrote some months back about how timing is everything.  When all else seems to be lost and you have nothing, run full steam ahead in any direction worth going, as long as you do something. The only bad decision is indecision.

You can do insanely great things when you start them from zero. What drives me in an entrepreneurial sense isn’t the promise of money (though money would be nice) but really the sense of doing something worthy of being passionate about.

I’ve worked in brutal sales environments where the only sense of accomplishment is the quota you hit at the end of the month, the only reward is cash. To some, that’s all they need to be happy. For idealists like myself, money has no incentive if the product I’m hawking is crap. But let’s rewind.

In 2008, upon returning from a study abroad in Rome, I had no place to stay, no job, and about $20 cash in my pocket. Within a week, I found a place to live, got a job, and started building myself back at zero.

Two years later I found myself yet again in the same situation. I just graduated college and left my job. The last of my cash was tied up in next month’s rent. I ruthlessly searched for opportunities outside of my college service industry ways. I didn’t stay away for long.

I bootstrapped a social media marketing business to local restaurants and bars in town, building a good sized portfolio in just a couple of months. There was money to pay the bills, and I thought I had something going on.

This is where I suddenly found myself swept up in the tsunami of internet technology, for not 8 months went by when Facebook came knocking at my virtual door. I accepted a contractor position that opened me to a new world (and pace) of business that I never imagined.

I squeezed that 6-month stint for every millisecond it let me. The product we were selling was complete garbage, but we thought it would change the world, and the audacity behind that couldn’t have been more valuable. When the project got shut down, I was heartbroken, but not lost. Shortly thereafter, I would find myself in the trenches serving another industry superpower: Google.

The Goog. El Googler. The Googleheim. To compare the two: while Facebook is like going to college for your undergrad, Google is your graduate/post graduate experience. We were still very much racing at Mach 5 the entire time, and the intensity from the sales floor was at Glengarry Glen Ross levels.

It took a little under a year doing the work to realize that, admittedly, while the free lunches and smoothies were cool, there was little passion behind selling something I in my right mind wouldn’t ever buy.

So again, this time with about 6months in savings, no prospects outside menial and depressing sales positions, I find myself investing time at square one for the hopes of doing something that keeps my passions burning. I still don’t know where this new journey is going to go. Back in March when it first came to me it didn’t even have a name. Since then I’ve had the chance to give it one.

It’s called Jellifi, and if it works, it will be the first internet product I can decidedly stamp my name on.

About this entry