timing is everything

“It is not by muscle, speed, or physical dexterity that great things are achieved, but by reflection, force of character, and judgment.”

― Marcus Tullius Cicero

My cat of 17 years, a quiet Himalayan by the name of Casper, passed away Tuesday morning. I felt a pain in my gut that even a recent broken lover’s heart couldn’t match. I called up the only person who would understand the love for animals–longtime friends as they are–to share my pain.

Even though we had not spoken in some time, she comforted me with soft tones and sympathies. Moreover, she wanted to share with me a project she has been hard at work on for the last 6 months. This is something she has been wanting to tell me about since the beginning, but was afraid to because of the lack of communication since I took my job at Google.

My love for entrepreneurship and start-ups got my mind reeling. Were it not for the loss of my beloved childhood feline, I may have never picked up the phone to reach out.

I’ve had a knack for timing in the past, and this week it continues to remain friendly.

A few weeks back I spoke with the man who brought me into the world of tech, the man who met with me the day I walked into Facebook, to ask for advice. He told me to “make a list: write down all the things you want to do and how you want to get there.”

The first thing I put on that list was to create and manage products, not just sell products. The timing of Casper’s death spurred first pure emotion, and then pure inspiration.

Second on that list was to share my knowledge of the industry, and how successful products become what they are with the actions of the people who make them. I am now running full steam in a direction to provide as much insight in as fast of time as possible to make this product a realization for her.

Whatever the outcome of it–failure or fortune–the process of learning + iterating a new product has given me a purpose to fulfill this list in the most serendipitous of ways.

Carpe Diem. Don’t take your foot off the gas.

About this entry